Can You Buy A Vape At 16?

If you’re a teenager wondering whether you can purchase a vape at 16, the answer is no. Almost 80% of youngsters indulge in ways to buy vapes underage. In addition, most places have set the legal age for vaping and buying vape products at 18 or older, while some regions have even higher age restrictions, such as 19 or 21. This article will highlight the legal aspects of vaping age limits, how teens get vapes, and the right age to indulge in vaping as per the laws. 

Can A 16-Year- Old Purchase A Vape? 

There is much debate and variation on the legal age to purchase a vape, both at the state and national levels. However, one thing is clear: a 16-year-old is not legally allowed to buy a vape. Age restrictions for purchasing vapes vary significantly in the US but are typically 18 or older. For example, Alaska and Arizona have set the minimum age at 19, while most states have settled on 21 as the legal age for vaping

legal age to vape

At What Age Can You Buy A Vape? 

The age restriction for buying a vape can vary depending on your location, and understanding these regulations is crucial for both consumers and retailers. Here, you can understand the  age limits set for purchasing a vape across different regions: 

  • Alabama- 21 years
  • Alaska- 19 years
  • Arizona- 18 years
  • Arkansas- 21 years
  • California- 21 years
  • Colorado- 21 years
  • Connecticut- 21 years
  • Delaware- 21 years
  • Florida- 21 years
  • Georgia- 21 years
  • Hawaii- 21 years
  • Idaho- 21 years
  • Illinois- 21 years
  • Indiana- 21 years
  • Iowa- 21 years
  • Kansas- 18 years
  • Kentucky- 21 years
  • Louisiana- 21 years
  • Maine- 21 years
  • Maryland- 21 years
  • Massachusetts- 21 years
  • Michigan- 21 years
  • Minnesota- 21 years
  • Mississippi- 21 years
  • Missouri- 18 years
  • Montana- 18 years
  • Nebraska- 21 years
  • Nevada- 21 years
  • New Hampshire- 21 years
  • New Jersey- 21 years
  • New Mexico- 21 years
  • New York- 21 years
  • North Carolina- 18 years
  • North Dakota- 21 years
  • Ohio- 21 years
  • Oklahoma- 21 years
  • Oregon- 21 years
  • Pennsylvania- 21 years
  • Rhode Island- 21 years
  • South Carolina- 18 years
  • South Dakota- 21 years
  • Tennessee- 21 years
  • Texas- 21 years
  • Utah- 21 years
  • Vermont- 21 years
  • Virginia- 21 years
  • Washington- 21 years
  • West Virginia- 18 years
  • Wisconsin- 18 years
  • Wyoming- 21 years

is it illegal to buy a vape under 21

The Bottom Line 

The legal age for purchasing vapes is crucial in regulating their use. In most regions, the minimum age is 18 years. Although regulations vary slightly from state to state, one constant remains: 16-year-olds cannot legally purchase vaping products. These age restrictions are in place to safeguard young individuals’ health and well-being and curb the rising trend of underage vaping. 

Furthermore, teenagers and adults must be aware of and respect these laws. Making responsible choices and understanding the potential risks associated with vaping are integral to ensuring the well-being of individuals and society.

Frequently Asked Questions

1) How do teens get vapes?

Teens get their vapes from friends, acquaintances, local smoke shops, and through online retailers. 

2) How old do you have to be to buy a vape? 

To purchase a vape, you should be at least 18 years old. However, the legal age in some states is also 19 or 21. So, checking with your state’s laws before purchasing one for yourself is crucial. 

3) Why is there a legal age for vaping? 

The legal age for vaping exists to protect the well-being of young individuals. 



About Arya

As a vaping connoisseur, I help vaping enthusiasts and newbies make the right choices when it comes to choosing vaping devices. With years of experience in the vaping industry I try to help all those who wish to turn to vaping by providing well-structured and informative articles on the same.